top of page
  • Writer's pictureSameer Gudhate

BOOK REVIEW | CAN’T HURT ME | DAVID GOGGINS




Seriously, such a breathe of fresh air. Finally a self improvement book from someone who has been there and is living the life he teaches.


David Goggins beautifully portrays how hard work, self-discipline, and mental toughness transformed his life from a depressed, overweight young man to the only man in history to complete elite training as a Navy SEAL, Army Ranger, and Air Force Tactical Air Controller. This is a memoir that shows us the real importance of hard work.


All through this book, David's life experience revealed that everything is a mind game and the more I can find a reason for being, then motivation, willpower, opinions, and fear all become irrelevant.


On a personal note I think the authorcould have left out a large amount of the foul language. I understand it’s who he is and most likely how he talks in real life, but it was over the top for me as I know a lot of armed force personells from India who will never use such language. The same must be true in the USA.


I intensely disliked his various descriptions of female genitalia as a synonym for weakness. I get that it was Drill Sargent talk during Seal Training but Goggins defaults to it as self talk whenever he’s experiencing a low point in a race and that’s actually disturbing.


David does an incredible job apart from the cussing and this book has changed the trajectory of my life. The 10 challenges are underway and I am excited to see where they take me.


The author in his shows that in order to overcome and master yourself you must become quiet and 'go into your own mind' which is a challenge in today's society where social media and low quality entertainment steals everyone's attention.


Will recommend this book with caution (points discussed above) for someone who wants to realize their true potential and utilize it.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by My Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page